Michael Robinson | The Benefits of Being Sorry…

I'm sorry

“Play fair. Don’t hit people. Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody.”

When I was younger, I went through a phase of “I’m right, you’re wrong.” I quickly learned that was a flawed point of view and way to live. I think I was very sorry for being like that toward my family and other people.

With that said, saying your sorry to someone else, after doing something to offend, takes a lot of strength I think. Going through a life without saying sorry, just leaves you alone and socially bitter.

Yes, in life, we live and we learn and should not have regrets, but realistically there are times where you MUST say sorry to someone. I believe this can be quickly learned when one marries.

You are with someone all the time, so of course you will make mistakes and do something offensive and saying your sorry mends that scar created in that marriage. Leaving things unsolved, just stores up in one’s mind privately, until there is a volcanic explosion of “ENOUGH!”

I believe that communication is the blood of happy relationships (all kinds), and with that blood, it soon dies. We cannot go through life without saying “sorry at least once, because like I said, it will leave you lonely and those you connect with, unhappy.

That is why I had to say sorry to those I’ve offended during my times of social immaturity. But, what’s done is done. We should not wallow in what was done in the past, but move on as a stronger human being.

“I’m always going to be sorry about it. But it’s in the past. I’m trying to live day by day to show people that I am a good-character guy.”

Leave a Reply

