Sorry, I’m Not Sorry

Published By: Andrew Baker (4/8/13)

Unfortunately, I find this blog post a little silly. In a world where everyone makes mistakes it is not uncommon for people to feel sorry about something they did. However, I like to look at life as an ever-changing adventure. I do not feel that we, as humans, should have to apologize for actions we make in life.

People make mistakes, I get that, but the whole goal throughout life is to learn from one’s mistakes and grow. It should not be a situation where people are put down or belittled into an apology of sorts because of something they did. Yeah, it can be different internally within one’s self versus how someone handles an outside influence, but even then I think that when you have made a decision to do something you live and die by that decision. It is not something that, in my opinion, should be regretted upon at a later date or 2nd guessed at some point.

Every action has a consequence. Each action has both good and bad consequences that come with the action chosen by the individual. For an individual to make a decision they think through the pros and cons, even if it incoherent at the time. Due this occurrence happening I can, in all honesty, admit to being sorry about something I have done in the past. All of my actions have molded me into what I currently am and the actions I choose now will mold my future. It is not something to be sorry for. Your future and actions you choose are something you should cherish because it is what makes you who you are.

So what if you cheated off a test when you were younger or shoplifted before, everyone has done his or her fair share of disorderly deeds as well. Accept the fate that you have been given and move on with your life. Continue on to what the future holds. So you made a stupid mistake here and there, but for every stupid mistake you have made there are equally as many choices you have made that are genius. 

Image

 

One thought on “Sorry, I’m Not Sorry

  1. Good insight. In my way of thinking, feeling sorry or responsiblity about an event is the window to seeing how you can move on. Apologies don’t have to be verbal to work. Nor should they limit your ability to move on. But I feel they can be cathartic.

Leave a Reply

