Conformity- Tiffany Wright

Conformity basically means “yielding to groups pressures”. Meaning someone who changes their belief, and behavior to fit in with a group. In the wrold we live in today I see conformity happening all the time. When I was in high school I even did it.

I remember like it was yesterday, which it was only five years ago, when I was in high school. I had very little self-esteem. I would change the way I talked just to fit in with the popular group of girls. I ended up changing the way I dressed as well. These girls only wore designer clothes from certain stores. I remember beging my mother to buy me clothes like that for me. Looking back at high school, I should of been myself, and if they didn’t like it, well so be it.

I am happy I am not that way anymore and happy with the person I have become. But, their are still people my age or older that change who they are to fit into a group. Then I think about why people are this way? Maybe society make people feel there is only one way to be, and that is being perfect. No one is perfect even celebrities. Society needs to start teaching being yourself is the best way to be.

Leave a Reply

