Sarah Cain- Integrity

“Never pay back evil for evil to anyone. Respect what is right in the sight of all men.”

Romans 12:17

        Integrity is a word not used very often. Perhaps it is mentioned in a classroom full of children, learning about morals… but not very much in your day-to-day vocabulary. In fact, upon considering what integrity was, I didn’t even have a firm grasp on what the word itself meant. The definition of integrity from dictionary.com is “adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.” Basically, having integrity means that you are in general, a good person. It is doing what is right and good. It is being truthful. It is practically being a perfect person, which is a standard no one could live up to. Being “incorruptible” is something that is almost impossible for your average person to achieve. We all tend to be swayed by something.

         But one of the most important parts of integrity that I want to comment on is the golden rule… “Treat others the way you would want to be treated”. Romans 12:17 is a verse which clearly speaks on integrity and the golden rule. “Never pay back evil for evil to ANYONE.” No matter what someone did to you, the bible speaks on never returning bad deeds back to him or her.

        “Payback” is something so close to our generation’s hearts. The second someone wrongs a person today, the quicker the person wronged is to try to get that person back. However, the bible calls us to be above that, which is not an easy thing to do.

        I literally just had to put this into practice 30 minutes ago. I was walking in the library with my boyfriend and I ran into two old friends who just recently joined a sorority. They insisted on commenting about how the table that they were sitting at was “a sorority table” and that I wasn’t to sit there. One of the girls mentioned to my boyfriend that her cousin has been looking at him and calling him “her boyfriend” for the past three months. I was hurt. I could have just as easily slung mud back at them, but instead I simply looked to my boyfriend and said “Well it looks as if you have a secret admirer,” as sweetly and calmly as possible. The phrase “Sometimes the best response is no response” is something that my mom has always taught me. If I were to be as rude to them as they were to me, then I would be acting exactly like them. I try to live out Romans 12:17 the best I can, but I have certainly had many moments where I chose to “pay back evil for evil”. Most of these times include my little brother. Whether it is tattle-telling or getting on each other’s nerves, we tend to purposefully get each other in trouble with my parents.

 

 

One thought on “Sarah Cain- Integrity

Leave a Reply

