Integrity and Uprightness

Real integrity is doing the right thing, knowing that nobody’s going to know whether you did it or not. –Oprah Winfrey

Integrity is not something that you feel. It is not something that you see. It’s something that you choose to do. A decision that lives within your conscious. Some decisions may be internal and another person may never know if you had made the correct decision. But what will this bring upon you? I am a firm believer in karma. All those who lack integrity may have a strong sensation for karma. I believe in doing things that are right because I know that they are right, not because they will benefit me. If we want to make the world a better place, we have to start with ourselves. After all, how can you influence one in a world of ‘seeing equals doing’ when you do not even posses the desired qualities yourself. 

I believe that a large part of integrity is trust. You must first be trusted to gain integrity, but when someone’s integrity is broken, trust may fall through the cracks along with it. I left my pocketbook at a friend’s house one night, only to discover that $140 had been stolen from me. I had trusted the surrounding people enough to leave my pocketbook unattended. I thought highly of everyone that was present and did not have to think twice. However, my trust was broken. In sad instances such as these, I was infuriated. However, realizing that I possessed enough integrity, open-heartedness, and trust to leave my belongings somewhere, showed much more about my character than it did about the thief. How lucky am I to be so fortunate that I do not have to steal from another? I count my blessings instead of focus on taking another’s. For that, I am thankful. For that, my heart only grows with integrity and hope that one day the world will move forward to make these changes. 

Leave a Reply

