Integrity- Katie Oechslin

Oprah Winfrey once said; “Real integrity is doing the right thing, knowing that nobody’s going to know whether you did it or not.”  I think this quote is a perfect description of what integrity really is.  Lots of people in this world believe that they possess this character trait, but very few actually have it.  Because integrity isn’t about doing something just for the attention and reward of doing it.  Real integrity doesn’t always go noticed and not everyone gets acknowledged for their good deeds.  That’s what makes integrity such an amazing quality to have.  I remember one time in high school this girl on the swim team was having trouble keeping up with the group.  I told her that I would help her if she need any extra practice with the strokes.  I spent almost a month helping her out a couple minutes after practice everyday.  I gave her tips and ways to improve.  At the conference meet, she was able to drop time off of all of her strokes and ended up getting most improved for the season.  I didn’t expect an award or any acknowledgment for helping her out.  I was just glad to be able to help someone through a hard time and get them to where they wanted to be.  That to me is integrity and the feeling after doing such a selfless act like that is indescribable.

Leave a Reply

