Opening Your Mind

“Either open your mind or shut your mouth.” I remember these exact words that my mother once said. It makes sense to me though. If you are unable to open your mind to new ideas and perceptions, you’re not giving it a chance, so why should we give you the chance to voice your opinion? It’s apparent that with billions of people in the world, no one is exactly alike.

I have grown up with many homosexual family members and friends. I am not conservative and would even go as far to describe myself as a “love-ative.” Of course, it’s not a real word, but I base my opinions on feelings. Who am I to judge someone’s happiness? It is not my place to tell you who you can and cannot love. If this were the case for heterosexuals, we would be outraged. My mother raised me to be open-minded and accepting of others and their differences.

Earlier today, I had a conversation with a friend about mail-order brides. We were both astonished that this still happens in other countries. When I sat down to reflect on the blog topic, I began to see similarities within the topic and my previous conversation. They are being told who they must love. They come to a country that is not their home. They are out of place. Confused. Scared. Unhappy. Why do we feel the need to dictate people’s decisions? I may be the biggest equal rights activist that I know, but why is it so hard for others to grasp? Over Valentine’s Day, I saw the new movie Beautiful Creatures. Throughout the film, one thing was embedded in my brain. A quote from one of the main characters who said, “God does create all things. It’s mankind who determines which ones are mistakes.” The movie is based in a small southern town who rejects the unfamiliar. Isn’t that what this is all about? Rejecting the unfamiliar because it makes you uncomfortable? Maybe people are quick to judge and say that homosexuals make them uncomfortable because they might be attracted to them. Who said you were that appealing that every single male and female will be attracted to you? Just as heterosexuals have standards, so do homosexuals. Frankly, your lack of being able to open your mind and free your soul makes one less attractive. 

Leave a Reply

