“Self Absorption” Sydney Deese

When I ponder around the word “Self-Absorption” it brings me back to a place of uncertainty. I truly do not understand why people are completely selfish, and stuck in their own existence.  It is cold, dark and lonesome.  Describing this word is actually not easy for me, only because I used to be deeply in that state of mind a few years ago. It brings back memories of unforgiving, and dysfunction.  I know what it’s like to be so consumed within my own thoughts and pressures of life, that I missed out on the opportunity of helping others with their own complications. I never gave people the chance to speak their mind; I would assuredly nod my head, and disguise my act with a deceitful smile. It is an obscure place to be in; it is like an ongoing disease that is eating you alive from the inside out.  Some people find a doorway out of this darkness, others are not so blessed. Individual’s roam through this life, missing out on the beauty of love. A verse that has been applied to my everyday life is 1 Corinthians 13:4-8, “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” In addition of learning how to love, it has changed my character completely. But everyday I still struggle with being self absorbed, but I do not let it consume like it used to. I know that everyone has a little bit of self absorption within them, but I believe that it can get to a point of cruelness.  I don’t allow the pressures of the world to drown my sincerity; I let love take its place. I believe the presence of love is the most powerful source breathing within someone.

One thought on ““Self Absorption” Sydney Deese

Leave a Reply

