Sarah Cain- What’s Important in Life

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Luke 12:34 

     I asked some friends and family what they considered to be important in their lives. My friend from high school, Brian listed out that “family, being successful and being happy at all times” were things to treasure in life. My cousin, Hannah explained, “What’s important in life is to know that God loves you and He created you to be loved. Through that love you can life your life happy and love others the way that He loves them.” My boyfriend, Andrew, made note that “Having fun, growing in everything you do, not quitting, staying faithful, and being positive” were all valued in order to live a happy life.

What I believe to be important in my life are things all similar to what my friends said. My list would have to include God, family, friends, values, laughing, and contentment. I was raised in a Christian home that put great emphasis on church and values. These things are still very important to my college life, even though I am away from home now. I love to laugh and I am constantly doing it. I just enjoy being happy and surrounding myself with people who will bring me up instead of tearing me down. My friends and family are the greatest. They will always be there to encourage me and to laugh with me.

When considering what was important in life to create this blog, my mind automatically went to Luke 12:34. This verse helps in finding what you would consider to be the one, singular important thing in your life. Most people could list off many things that make them happy or things that they enjoy doing. But when having to choose only one word to describe the thing that is most important, where do you look? How do you consider what would be the most valued in your existence? You look to your day-to-day schedule, which will lead to your heart.

My friend, Brian (mentioned above) spends his time dreaming about huge, mansion-like houses; fancy, expensive cars and the perfect, cookie cutter family. All of his social media networking sites are filled with photos of money, cars, women, nice clothes and houses. These mere photos reflect his heart. He yearns to be well off. He obsesses over the American dream. He fantasizes about being successful. So, it was no shocker when I asked him “What do you believe is the most important thing in life is?” he automatically responded back with “Being successful.”

This is a clear example of what Luke 12:34 is talking about. Brian spends mostly all of his time dreaming of nice things. That is his treasure. He treasures, values and holds close the idea of being prosperous and that is also where his heart is. Because he takes time to look through these photos of what he considers to be “success”, he holds his own life to that same standard.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not trying to say that desiring to be successful is a bad thing. I am just trying to get the point across that what ever you set your mind on, want to become, or spend your time looking at will eventually end up becoming your treasure, the thing you consider most important in your life. For this reason, we are to “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” (Colossians 3:2) Dwelling and desiring on material, worldly things will never lead to happiness. It will only leave you with the feeling of emptiness. It will only push you further into wanting more and more. This only leads down the path of greed, jealousy, lust, gluttony, envy, and pride. Things that you wouldn’t want to define your life.

Leave a Reply

