Self Absorption Jennifer Eldridge

I believe every one in the world in some way is self absorbed.  We want to do what is best for our lives and succeed in the things that we like to do.  When I typed “self absorption” into Google, this is what popped up first, “preoccupation with oneself to the exclusion of others or outside world.”  In other words being self absorbed is simply just being selfish.  We all know plenty of people in this world that are way too in love with themselves.  I am on a dance team so we get alot of girls like that.  They come to basketball games with the fake tans, eyelashes, and hair.  Then you sit down next to them and they just ask you how they look for the entire game.  Don’t get me wrong I love all the girls on our team, but sometimes they just need to learn how to be a part of a team.  Self absorped people aren’t usually the types of people we like to hang around.  I mean its nice to hear about other’s lives, but you want to tell them about yours too.  Self Absorption doesn’t just happen in girls though; I know many guys who are too impressed with themselves.  Just because they have abs they think they treat girls like complete crap.  On the other hand sometimes we all need to be a little self absorbed.  If you only listened to other people and did what they wanted you to do, you would never accomplish anything in your own life.  You be considered a “door mat.”  There has to be a good balance between what you do for yourself and what you do for others.  My mother is a great example of someone who isn’t very self absorbed at all.  She does everything she can for other people.  She is always trying to make everyone around her happy.  This Christmas we were shopping and she found a purse she really liked but she thought it was too expensive.  She debated about buying for a long time.  Finally I told her, “Mom, just pamper yourself. You deserve it.”  She bought that purse, and now she wears it almost everyday.   When reflecting on myself I don’t believe I am very self absorbed.  I do like to do things for myself and accomplish my goals, but I also like doing things for others.  It’s nice when the spot light is on me, but it shouldn’t be like that all the time.  I am alot like my mom in that way.

Leave a Reply

